This weeks assignment was to research some different OPACs.  I have to admit it was harder than I thought it would be.  Finding detailed information on the OPACs reminds me of my researching days in the corporate world.  Just a little bit of information and a whole lot of nothing intelligible.  Anyway.  I was also surprised by the number of OPACs that are out there.  Including the number of libraries that still have card catalogs – although I would love to see another one because they bring back such memories.  Remember how frustrating using the card catalog was.  I should show my students that sometime.

I have to say that I am really lucky to have Destiny Quest.  It is easy to use, good support availibility, nice interface, etc.  I also like that it is linked to our student grading system as that is how the library managment system is populated.  Changes just flow through to the new year.  Cataloging is easy – thank goodness.  Also glad that I do not need to migrate to another system anytime soon.

I enjoyed this week’s assignment.

 

