Social Media – how do we use it effectively.  My own children as well as the students are already so far beyond me when it comes to social media that I sometimes wonder how I can catch up or keep up with them.  There are so many to choose from as well as new tools out there to begin to learn before I have become proficient at the last one.  I also was reminded this week at how addictive social media can be.  I have been checking my twitter account as well as my Facebook a lot more than I usually do.  I think we need to take that into consideration when dealing with students and social media.  I completed several Vine segments to introduce the new books at my library and will be posting them to the blog shortly. I still question whether it is our job to introduce social media at the library but am willing to take a chance and see what happens.  I think it will also depend on the individual class on whether or not the lessons will be beneficial.  A cartoon from John Atkins – Wrong Hands.

 4bc21867d5ea431c1c31ea86eb19fc65

